The Four Houses Of Hogwarts

Houses in Harry Potter!!

The Four Houses Of Hogwarts
The Four Houses Of Hogwarts

In the mystery world of wizardry, let us dive deep into the houses of the Harry Potter Franchise. There are four houses in J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter book series, each with its own set of principles, characteristics, and personalities. The same is reflected in the 8 movies of the franchise. 

Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry has four houses: Slytherin, Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, and Hufflepuff. Each Hogwarts student is given assigned a house based on their personality and skills.  The sorting ceremony is an important part of the Hogwarts experience, and the house a student is placed in has a big impact on their journey.

There are many inner meanings revolving around the four houses, teaching us important lessons. Let us crack down on some of them. 


Godric Gryffindor was the founder of the house. Gryffindor is a vibrant red and golden yellow colour. Gryffindor corresponds to the element of fire. The main attributes of Gryffindor are bravery, daring, nerve, and chivalry. 

The students are brave and ready to face any challenge. They never try to manipulate others with their characteristics. They attempt to assist everyone out of chivalry.  Its emblematic animal was the lion. The significant object of Gryffindor was the Sword of Gryffindor. Albus Dumbledore, Harry Potter, Ron Weasley, and Hermione Granger are some of the iconic members of the house who complement the fire element. 

“You might belong in Gryffindor, where dwell the brave of heart. Their daring, nerve, and chivalry set Gryffindors apart.”

-J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone


Slytherin was founded by Salazar Slytherin. The house is represented by the colour green and silver.  Its emblematic animal was the snake. The Sorting Hat places students into Slytherin if they possess traits such as cunning, ambition, resourcefulness, and a strong desire for power and success.

The water element, which relates to mystery, love, and purity, is linked to the dwelling. Lord Voldemort, the series’ major adversary, is a member of this house. can perceive the house members’ desire for love, much like Voldemort or Severus Snape did.

Due to the fact that it has produced so many dark wizards and witches, Slytherin House has earned the reputation of being the “dark” house. The series also includes some Slytherin characters that are ultimately presented as heroic or at least sympathetic, including as Severus Snape and Horace Slughorn, proving that not all Slytherins are wicked.

“Or perhaps in Slytherin, you’ll make your real friends. Those cunning folk use any means to achieve their ends.”

— J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone


Hufflepuff valued the following traits of hard work, dedication, patience, loyalty, and fair play. Its emblematic animal was the badger. yellow and black are the colours of this house.

 Hufflepuff was founded by Helga Hufflepuff. It is very much associated with the earth element representing qualities like stability and thoughtfulness. Cedric Diggory and Nymphadora Tonks are the notable members of the house. 

Hufflepuff’s most important possession was Helga Hufflepuff’s Cup, which Tom Riddle transformed into a Horcrux. J. K. Rowling herself has said that Hufflepuff is her favourite House

“You might belong in Hufflepuff, where they are just and loyal. Those patient Hufflepuffs are true and unafraid of toil.”

— J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone


Rowena Ravenclaw is the founder of the house. The colours of the house are blue and bronze, which refers to the sky. The qualities of the house valued are intelligence, knowledge, curiosity, creativity, and wit. Its emblematic animal was the eagle, which represents how focused and majestic they are. Ravenclaw corresponded to the element of air. Rowena Ravenclaw’s diadem, which Tom Riddle transformed into a Horcrux, was an important item of Ravenclaw.

“Or yet in wise old Ravenclaw, if you have a ready mind, Where those of wit and learning can always find their kind.”

— J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

The Hogwarts Journey

These houses showcase friendship and unity between the jaw-dropping roles in the series. The different colours and symbols of the house portray different emotions of the characters in the storyline. Decoding the hidden facts are always fun and exciting. Keep watching!! Keep decoding!!

Facts You Didn’t Know About Anne Hathaway

Facts You Didn’t Know About Anne Hathaway

Best Fantasy Movies Of All Time

Best Fantasy Movies of All Time